Knowing Your Limits

This weekend I had quite a bit of playing to get done, and I was not 100% “careful” with my playing chops. By no means have I seriously damaged anything but it can be and has been a minor inconvenience. Some time ago, when I did have a serious embouchure problem, I was told by multiple people the best thing I could do was take ibuprofen and sleep. In spite of complying with these methods it still took about a week to feel “normal” again.

With that said, here’s an article (specific to trumpet players, but is still applicable to most brass instruments) about appropriate ways to embouchure recovery and how to prevent such a problem in the first place.

Leave a Reply

